wig: snatched. location: xadia | The Dragon Prince: Season 3 REVIEW!

Epic, romantic & thrilling, but enough about my life, let’s talk about The Dragon Prince! Over time I’ve become a much bigger fan of The Dragon Prince than I was when the show started. I liked the first season but I love the second season and now after having seen the new third season, my love for this show only grows stronger. One of my main issues with the show when it started was it’s lacking originality but now as the show progresses I can really see the full picture and appreciate the impressive world-building this show has to offer.

With it’s third season, The Dragon Prince further explore it’s rich world-building and gives us some much-awaited answers. First off, can we all agree that after months of waiting, hearing that awesome theme song felt amazing. The music especially the main theme of this show is so incredibly epic and mystical you can’t help but get hyped up about what this story is going to unfold next. I would go so far as to say that this show is the only show that I’m watching right now, animated or not that actually progresses with each season, it keeps upgrading and honestly I don’t know how they can top this season, action-wise or story-wise. That being said I’m a bit concerned about the direction the show is taking after this season and the only reason is that we’ve solved the main arc of the show, Rayla, Callum and Ezran delivered the dragon prince to his mother and in doing so making peace between the human world and Xadia. I have no doubt that the writers will think of something but considering the fact that this arc ran through three seasons, in fact it was the entire premise of the show, I don’t know if the next season will be it’s last or that a new arc will start.

Now, let’s talk about characters. First off Rayla and Callum, I loved their emotional arc this season. It felt natural and romantic and I really, really like where they are headed with them. When they kissed it didn’t feel rushed or annoying, it felt earned because we’ve seen them grow as a dynamic from the first season till here and they spent a lot of time together. It was adorable and cute and I love them, we stan and support Rayllum in this household yee-haw. Now Viren, holy dragon balls, Viren is one of the most diabolical and purely evil antagonists I’ve seen in animation in recent memory. You would think would he go that far and not only does he step out of line but he does so in an animalistic manner. When it comes to motivation, I can sort of understand where he’s coming from but his reasoning is totally off. It was actually heartbreaking what he did to Avizandum. Even if Avizandum wasn’t a kind character, it was really sad seeing him die slowly trying to get to the top of the mountain to see his son on the day of his birth. Then we come to Ezran who I’m really glad he stood his ground on peace instead of war. He shows a real sense of maturity and it’s refreshing to see it in such a young character where they would usually be played as the comic-relief. But if we’re being honest this season belonged to best boi Soren. That’s some character development right there. I’ll talk about him in more detail as we go to my favourite episodes.

Story-wise this season nailed it for me. I love every decision they made regarding the characters and the story. My favourite episodes are “Sol Regem”, “Ghost”, “Thunderfall” “Hearts of Cinder” and “The Final Battle”. Let’s start with Sol Regem, firstly that was an insane opening to this season. It showed us that both humans and dragons were in the wrong. Humans wanted more power and Dragons wanted to remain the superior species. The rest of the episode was really intense and it immediately reminded why I love this show. Next up is Ghost which is my favourite episode of the season. It had a really eerie atmosphere to it. It had a really clever concept with the entire “ghost bannishment” thing and again I love the world-building, especially that flower pond for the assassins. Also more LGBTQ+ characters thanks to Runaan and his husband. We love to see that. I already explained why I think Thunderfall is a great episode so let’s move on to Hearts of Cinder which introduces or rather develops a shift between Soren and Claudia.

I love how they’re playing with this dynamic because even though both Soren and Claudia love their father, Claudia is closer to him since she uses dark magic and because of that it makes sense that she would think what Viren is doing is right unlike Soren. I am loving this dark path Claudia is going through, it makes for such great character writing because we know that she’s a good person and she’s only useing dark magic to do what she thinks is right even if it means taking someone’s life to save her father. I really hope they do something big with Claudia and her magic next season. Soren also is a good guy he was taken advantage of by his father and almost killed a child but still even though that’s bad, he did it for his father. This season however he chooses good and joins Rayla and Callum in the final battle. I love and stan good Soren. He is good, he is best boi.

Also General Amaya and the whole Sunfire Elf plot, amazing. I already love Amaya, we stan her but now she gets a sunfire elf friend / love-interest? maybe? no. yes. definitely. I ship it. Don’t came at me I rarely ship any characters so let me have this one thing. Also Gren and Amaya are reunited which I LOVED! I love Gren, he deserves some happiness, give it to him! I love the Sunfire Elf place/world, it reminded me a lot of when Aang and Zuko went to learn the secrets of firebending from two actual dragons in that one sun temple. As for what I think Season 4 will be about, um Aaravos is still here and present. Viren is unfortunately alive and Claudia is all dark and powerful. I do hope that Season 4 will actually have a story and not just be good vs evil like I want a story with themes and great character developement like what the past three seasons have done. Umm yeah, this is already way too long of a review so I’m gonna cut it here but I’ve said all I wanted to say about this season. I think it’s the best one yet and I highly, HIGHLY suggest you watch this or recommend it to someone who isn’t watching it. It’s on Netflix, the seasons are short so like, just do it. It’s one of the best fantasy shows out there right now and not enough people are watching it so give it a try.

Also I know this is late but wait for my She-Ra Season 4 review cause that one is gonna be even more delayed so yay! Jokes aside though I have a ton of posts already planned and I’m very excited to share them with y’all!

tenor.gif

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started